Making up for the Easy One

Apartment Therapy sure knows how to tease a girl. After Day 6 of the Cure, I kinda thought I had it all figured out. If I could catch up then, surely the rest of the month would be no problem. Right?

Insert obnoxious buzzer sound.

Day 8: Flowers, Kitchen Cleaning & Make Yourself a Meal

Flowers: forgot. But I also forgot to throw out the ones from last week until this morning so technically, we did have flowers.

Make Yourself a Meal: We made what we call “Karla Stew” because it was Karla, our post-partum doula that introduced us to it and who was kind enough to share the recipe with us.

All pictures this post are from my cellphone, my apologies.

Tuvia chopping up some veggies for the stew

Tuvia chopping up some veggies for the stew

Aiden helping by playing with water in the sink. A total lifesaver, that one.

Aiden helping by playing with water in the sink. A total lifesaver, that one.

The DElicious recipe

The DElicious recipe

Kitchen Cleaning: Someone came in to clean on Thursday and she cleaned all the surfaces and hard stuff like the stove and oven (and floors that I never cleaned!) But go check out the very long, very specific list AT has up. I have accomplished very little of this. I started off with good intentions, but you know what they say about that (actually I can’t remember the quote, so hopefully you know it and maybe you can share it with me in the comments). Everyone got sick.

Instagram-ing sickness totally makes it cuter

Instagram-ing sickness totally makes it cuter

That meant that I got very little done that I wanted to i.e. my pantry does not look like the photo featured on AT (though we do have chalkboard paint on our door)

01-Pantry_rect540

….but it also meant that I got a little perspective.

I am so incredibly grateful for my family, my friends, and my driver’s license. Seriously, I do not know what I would do without them and I want to thank them because they are so wonderful, kind, thoughtful, caring, and generous. And I’ve had to drive Aiden, Mia, and Tuvia to the doctor on three separate occasions this week plus sick errands and general things-that-require-a-car-and-someone-who-can-drive-them and it is such an enormous relief to be able to do that.

So, thank you dearest familia of mine, both for taking such good care of us and for supporting my journey to get my license. I love you guys.

Enough with the lovefest you saps, back to the Cure!

I did manage to do a pantry purge and it felt sooooo good! Look at these garbage bags full of stuff that was wasting space in our kitchen

Now the question is, why are they still on the kitchen floor?

Now the question is, why are they still on the kitchen floor?

When I was preggers and nesting, I did an overhaul of our pantry that has our paper goods, party supplies, small electric appliances, and recycling. And it looked pretty good. At this point I’d say it looks…eh. It’s not bad, but you know I like things pretty and as soon as I can figure out something big enough to hold all the Costco plasticware, I am getting rid of those boxes they come in.

Not only are these cellphone pictures, they were taken in the dark, from close up and as I was passing by so they don’t reveal much

IMG_2894 IMG_2895

 

I have visions of getting pretty glass jars like these ones from Target and having the plasticware artfully placed inside for easy access and viewing pleasure, but there’s no way the jars are big enough. I could get baskets that are deeper instead of being as wide as the cardboard boxes they come in, but I haven’t done the measuring and am not sure how to make sure they are the right size for this enormous amount.

12705098

 

I also think I could probably get rid of most of those small appliances, but I can’t make myself part with them just yet. Hmm…that’s what the outbox is for, isn’t it?

As for the kitchen cabinets, they work pretty well for us…but they don’t look so pretty either. Sometimes I think I want to get pretty baskets and boxes, paint or wallpaper the back, and give it a makeover, but we rent. And it doesn’t bother me much when so many other apartment things do so for now, it’s not on the list.

The bottom shelf has the cooking/baking ingredients that we use on a more regular basis and the top shelf has canned goods and things we use less often. Woah, we need to go grocery shopping

The bottom shelf has the cooking/baking ingredients that we use on a more regular basis and the top shelf has canned goods and things we use less often. Woah, we need to go grocery shopping

Our spices are on the top and it works well enough though. The bottom has flour, bread flour, sugar, and brown sugar in containers that aren't so pretty but definitely keep it fresh

Our spices are on the top and it works well enough though. The bottom has flour, bread flour, sugar, and brown sugar in containers that aren’t so pretty but definitely keep it fresh

We have more things to go through and get rid of and deeeeefinitely need to go grocery shopping, but we don’t have any food that is past its expiration date and I got rid of a bunch of stuff that I kind of always knew I needed to get rid of and this gave me the push I needed. So, all in all, it wasn’t an easy one, more can be done, but we’re good for now :)

How’re y’all doing?

4 thoughts on “Making up for the Easy One

  1. I’m impressed. Organizing and a newborn and cooking. Do you want to know what I’ve been doing? Sitting on a couch, eating cookies, drinking Bailey’s and wondering where the hell the snow went in Canada b/c it’s nowhere near me. You’re doing good! I think I’ll just live vicariously through your organizing. :)

  2. Pingback: Landing Strip (who named it that?) | Shoes Off, Please

  3. Pingback: A Liiiiitle Bit of Progress | Shoes Off, Please

Leave a Reply

