Contemplating a DIY Crib-skirt

This will probably come as a shock to most of you, but …. I don’t know how to sew.

Whew, now that’s out of the way, let’s talk about this DIY project. On Young House Love (it’s fair to say, my FAVORITE blog of all time), there is a post about creating a crib skirt using iron-on hem tape, scissors, a tape measure and an iron. I have all those things!

We never got a crib skirt for Aiden’s crib, but we did get a flat sheet with the set we use on his bed (super sale from Serena and Lily, usually a dream source for me).

Clearly I did no fixing up before I took this picture, so enjoy me keeping it real AND the first sneak peek of Aiden’s room:

I hope this doesn’t scare away any guests, but we don’t use flat sheets. We find them annoying and we have duvet covers for everything anyway so we also find them kind of pointless (as always, no judgment on what you do, it’s just what we do). So we have this sheet with a design I luuuuuurve and it’s just sitting in a basket with the other extra sheets, pillowcases, and blanket for his room. Being the natural genius that I am, I decided to use it as a bedskirt!

But I don’t sew.

So this is what it generally ends up looking like one to two days after we fold and origami it up a bit under the mattress to pretend it’s a bedskirt:

Not so much on the pretty side. After browsing the YHL site and finding their tutorial, I think that we can make our own crib skirt. It obviously won’t be quite traditional because we are using an existing flat-sheet instead of a yard or two of fabric and I’m not sure if we’ll have enough to do three sides (one will be against the wall, so no need for four), but I think it’s worth a shot.

What are your thoughts? Shall I attempt this, knowing that it might be a complete and utter fail? Have you ever faked a bedskirt?

4 thoughts on “Contemplating a DIY Crib-skirt

  1. Pingback: Yeah, I Did it: Tales of a Crib Skirt | Shoes Off, Please

  2. Pingback: Page not found | Shoes Off, Please

  3. Pingback: Project crib sheet complete | Mama Sews Best

  4. Pingback: Project crib sheet complete | Run Sew Fast

Leave a Reply

