Products I Love: LeSportsac Diaper Bag

Dear moms who are looking for a diaper bag:

Get this one.

7532_K011

This is the one we have..I think it’s called “zoo”…or something like that

 

The LeSportsac Ryan Baby Bag is the bomb diggity (not only did I just say that, I said it seriously). I luuuuurve it. It’s lightweight, waterproof, easy to clean, has just the right amount of pockets, and can fit enough paraphernalia for a baby, a potty-training toddler, and their really tired mom.

This one is prettier, but I like that the one we have isn't too feminine

This one is prettier, but I like that the one we have isn’t too feminine

It doesn’t have as many pockets as other diaper bags do, but I love it. It’s got two big outside ones, one with a zipper (where I keep Aiden snacks), and one without (my things like keys, wallet, etc go there).

There is also a bottle holder on either side, which I like because it keeps the bottle upright, it’s long so the bottle doesn’t fall out, and it’s wide enough to hold bottles in a bottle holder (or at least in this Dwell Studio bottle holder)

41gmP0Sw2YL._SL500_AA300_

 

Although now I secretly want this completely-unnecessary-as-an-addition bottle holder

3181oIL7XEL._SL500_AA300_

 

There are also two smaller pockets inside for whatever you need and two hooks, which they call stroller hooks, but I use them to hold a pacifier holder and keys (which I can never find when I have Aiden in one hand and the stroller in the other so this is a lifesaver) and a travel hand sanitizer.

I’ve come across many “in my diaper bag” posts and thought I’d give my take as our system worked well for Aiden and so far is great for Mia.

The bag, like most these days, comes with a travel changing pad so there’s that. Then we have a kind of travel station for diaper changes- a large ziplock bag with wipes, diapers, and a…er…. doggy bag thing.

Ours doesn’t look quite as “dog”-like since it isn’t in a bone shape, but it’s the same idea

04902253673_450x450_a

 

This way, wherever we go, we have something to put the dirty diaper in. We never want to assume that we can throw it out in someone’s regular garbage (why should they have to deal with our kids’ diapers?) and sometimes we have to change a kid in an inconvenient place and there’s no good place to throw it out. So we have these. It seems weird, but it works.

Then we keep another bag with a change of clothes for Mia, so when she inevitably spits up or leaks all over her outfit, we have a clean one waiting along with a bag for her dirty clothes to take back home with us.

I always make sure to have two burp cloths, because Mia is a fountain and will need both of them, and some sort of nursing cover. Either my Bebe au Lait, which was suuuch a good gift, or an aden + anais swaddle (definitely deserves a “Products I Love” post of its own).

Screen shot 2013-01-19 at 10.43.29 PM

Screen shot 2013-01-19 at 10.43.22 PM

 

The Bebe au Lait cover is great because it covers enough that I don’t worry about flashing anyone and it has a stiff neckline so you can see your baby (and what you’re doing) and still maintain your privacy. I just slip it over my head, position Mia, and we’re good to go almost anywhere.

2035_280

The swaddle is great (for oh so many reasons, but specifically here) because it’s so large and made of that wonderful lightweight breathable muslin. Toss it over a shoulder or in a loose knot over your neck and you’re good to go.

I also throw a pacifier into the case for when Mia needs a little sucking to help her fall asleep or soothe.

For Mia, that’s basically it:

  • changing pad
  • diapers
  • wipes
  • doggy bag
  • burp cloths
  • nursing cover
  • pacifier
  • hand sanitizer

I occasionally throw in a bottle of pumped milk in the case, but that’s pretty rare since I’m home with Mia and we plan most of the time so that I can nurse her.

When Aiden’s gonna be with us also we have to add a bunch of stuff because my little champ is potty-training. We’ve got a travel potty seat since he doesn’t like toilets without it, a change of clothes in case of an accident, and juuuust in case we have a diaper for him too. I also keep a snack and water for him in the bag at all times because inevitably we will need it.

As for me, I throw in my phone, keys, and wallet (sometimes remembering to attach my keys to the stroller hook thingamajig).

I’m loving the bag and am super grateful to the giver (thank you Esther!) because it’s a total leg up on the heavy one we carried around for Aiden.

Anyone out there loving their diaper bag? Have a great system for what you keep in there? 

One thought on “Products I Love: LeSportsac Diaper Bag

  1. Pingback: Head over Heels (Young House) Love | Shoes Off, Please

Leave a Reply

